- What are Common Penalties for DUI in Maryland?
- What Are Maryland's Toughest Gun Laws?
- What should I do if my probation is about to be violated?
- What do I do if I am pulled over for DUI?
- Do I need a criminal defense lawyer for a citation?
- What should I do if I am injured in an accident?
- Can my probation be violated for smoking marijuana?
- Should I speak to the police about my case?
Compared to some other states the DUI laws in Maryland are relatively lenient, but it would be inaccurate to say that first offenders generally receive a mere slap on the wrist. The outcome of a case where a driver pleads guilty or is found guilty after trial is largely dependent on four factors including the prior record of the driver, the alcohol content of the driver, whether there was an injury accident and the overall behavior of the driver during the stop. A first time offender with a BAC of .10 or less that did not get into an accident and was polite and cooperative with police will probably be in the best situation for sentencing. Those who have refused the breath test could be in a similar or even better situation in court, although they will face harsher sanctions from the MVA.
Drivers in either of these scenarios should be able secure a probation before judgment (PBJ), avoid jail time and possibly even receive unsupervised probation if they are well prepared for court. Being well prepared means that the driver should enter and either complete or come close to completing a state certified alcohol education program. These programs must be done in person and commonly include an initial evaluation followed by a minimum of 12 hours of class time. Drivers may also be required to attend a MADD impact panel meeting, but this may be completed while on unsupervised probation as long as the driver or his or her attorney files the appropriate documentation that the class has been completed.
The likely term of probation for a first time offender with no aggravating circumstances is 6 to 18 months, but some judges still go as high as 3 years probation for a first offense. As long as the driver receives a PBJ there will be no points assessed on his or her Maryland driver's license, though unlike other offenses a DUI cannot be expunged even with a PBJ. A conviction for DUI carries 12 points, which will bring an additional license suspension, while a conviction for DWI carries 8 points and mandatory driver improvement classes. DWI is considered a lesser offense, and is often offered by the state when the defendant refuses to submit to the breath test. If the driver takes the test and the results are above .08 the state typically does not have any reason to offer a lesser, and will go forward on DUI per se. Fair or not, for court purposes it often pays to refuse the test if there is any chance of failing. Large fines are not a typically a common form of punishment in Maryland, as a portion of the standard $500 or $1,000 fine will usually be suspended. Most first time offenders will end up paying $250 to $350 in fines and court costs.
Second time offenders face an increased likelihood of serving active jail time, and if the first offense was within 5 years it's almost a guarantee. The amount of jail time is largely dependent on the jurisdiction and the judge. Obviously the facts of every case are different, but it is also important to consider in the location of the traffic stop when attempting to predict the outcome of a case. For such a small state Maryland has drastically diverse socioeconomic and politically oriented regions, and this affects the way cases are handled in the local courts. Judges and prosecutors around the state can look at the same DUI case differently. While first time offenders are mostly held in the same light regardless of jurisdiction, the same cannot be said for repeat offenders. In some jurisdictions it is an unspoken rule that a second offender will receive 30 days or more in jail, while in others jail time is far from a foregone conclusion. As the stakes are higher, repeat offenders need to do everything in their power to show the judge that it will never happen again. This often means entering an inpatient or intensive outpatient program and participating in multiple AA meetings per week.
Drivers who were arrested and then blew over.15, those who caused an accident as a result of their impairment and those who were argumentative and even violent with police also face harsher sentences in court. Other aggravating factors include open containers of alcohol being found, the presence of minors in the car and the driver having a suspended license. In some cases these aggravating factors can place a first time offender in a worse position than a repeat offender, and these cases should not be taken lightly. Drivers in any of these situations should start preparing for their case immediately, which means searching for treatment options the day after the arrest. Judges will not look kindly upon a defendant who waited until the last minute to seek an alcohol evaluation.
While arresting officers will almost certainly show up for DUI cases not all drunk driving arrests end up with convictions and punishments. For those who feel they were wrongly arrested it is probably wise to request a jury trial and prepare the case for trial in the circuit court. Jurors are generally more skeptical of a police officer's opinion about another person's impairment whereas judges will generally believe a well-prepared officer. A good lawyer will make a juror understand that the odor of alcohol is present after even a sip of liquor, half a glass of wine or a bottle of beer and this absolutely does not prove impairment. In addition the standardized field sobriety exercises are designed to confuse and put drivers in awkward uncomfortable situations, and performing poorly on these exercises is hardly proof of impairment. For additional questions or consultation contact DUI attorney Benjamin Herbst at 410-207-2598. Benjamin has won numerous impaired driving jury trials and is available 7 days a week to discuss your case.
Those of you who have read our blog are probably aware of the changes in state gun laws over the last couple of years. For those who haven’t checked out our criminal law blog this page will provide a brief overview. Basically Maryland has gone from a state with tough gun laws to one of the toughest in the entire country. Various bills have been signed into law in the last few legislative sessions, and federal appellate court decisions have upheld these laws. The main effect of these new laws is that they make legally possessing a gun extremely difficult, and in many cases downright dangerous. Purchasing firearms in the state now requires fingerprinting, background checks, safety classes, and long waiting periods, but theses laws rarely result in arrests and unfair criminal charges. Simply put, you cannot be arrested for trying to buy a gun. On the other hand, you can be arrested for carrying or transporting a firearm. And the number of unlawful and unfair arrests for this offense makes it one of the toughest on the books.
Maryland laws that regulate wearing, carrying, or transporting gun are not only stricter than every surrounding state, but these laws are also confusing to the point that the cops do not even understand them. Our firm has represented numerous clients from states such as Florida, North Carolina, and Virginia, and in each of these cases our clients were arrested for something that is legal in their home states. The law prohibits a person from transporting a firearm, but exceptions include traveling to or from a bona fide place of residence or place of business, from target practice, or to and from the gun shop. The problem is that many police officers don’t know about the exceptions, or simply don’t bother to fully investigate. A person traveling through Maryland with a gun in his or her car is not necessarily breaking the law, but 9 out of 10 officers will make an arrest if they find one. The firearm must be unloaded and in a case or a holster, but we have seen cases where cops will make an arrest even if theses requirements are followed. If you have been arrested for carrying or transporting a gun the state may file felony charges, and in some cases these charges carry mandatory minimum jail sentences.
Another common weapons offense is possession of a gun by a convicted felon. This crime used to carry a maximum sentence of 5 years, but strangely this was also the minimum sentence upon conviction. The law has since been changed to carry a maximum 15-year sentence, but the minimum mandatory is now not as mandatory. If five years has passed since the defendant completed his or her sentence for the most recent felony conviction then it is up to the judge whether to impose the minimum mandatory. In other words a conviction will not automatically trigger imposition of a five-year prison sentence. These modifications give the defense a greater degree of negotiating power, and allow the facts of each case to be looked at individually. For further questions or more detailed information contact the firm anytime at 410-207-2598
Probation definitely has some value in the American court system, but most people with the knowledge and experience of how the system works would agree that probation has serious drawbacks. From a defendant’s perspective, the only good thing about probation is that it can be used instead of a jail sentence. It allows the judge and the state to feel like they have delivered some sort of punishment without having to lock somebody up. In many cases probation in lieu of jail time has saved jobs, marriages, family relationships, and kept defendants safe. But in other cases probation turns out to be a greater burden than it’s worth.
There are far too many probation violations that are causing a great strain on defendant’s lives, and on the court system. The fact of the matter is that probation officers are too quick to recommend violations, and judges are often too harsh when these cases show up in court. Many Maryland probation officers have a tendency to abuse their authority, and would rather issue a violation report than be flexible and understanding. We have seen defendants violated for missing appointments or showing up late when they actually showed up on time. Defendants have been violated for moving or traveling without permission when the probation officers have been impossible to get in touch with to obtain the permission. Probation isn’t easy, and we understand the frustration with the process. But the last thing anyone should do if they are facing a violation is to give up.
If you or a loved one is facing a probation violation, the first thing we recommend is to continue to try to complete your obligations. Don’t skip an appointment, treatment class, or payment because doing so will only make matters worse when the case finally ends up in court.
The first advice we give to clients is to avoid voluntarily giving Maryland police officers any evidence that could help them prove DUI. If you see that an officer is trying to pull you over or has flagged you down, you should stop your car in a safe manner, and do it as timely as possible. You do not want to call any extra attention to yourself before the officer has even approached. When the police approach your car, have your license and registration ready to hand over, and DO NOT speak unless spoken to. If you have be drinking alcohol, every time you open your mouth you are giving the police evidence they could use against you. Remember that you are not obligated to say anything to the police except to identify yourself, so less is more. On DUI stops police typically ask where you have been coming from, where you are going, and if you have been drinking. If you choose to answer any of these questions, your answers will probably show up in a police report if you are arrested.
We always advise our clients to be cooperative with police, and to refrain from being chatty and overly friendly. In Maryland there are very limited circumstances, such as accidents with serious injuries or fatalities, where you can be required to submit to a breath or blood test to measure your blood alcohol content. If a police officer tells you that a breath alcohol test is voluntary then you are under no obligation to provide a sample. If you decide to submit to a breath alcohol test, you will be asked to provide two samples by a certified breath test operator. The arresting officer is not permitted to actually administer the breath alcohol test. Remember that if you are charged with DUI the results of these breath alcohol tests will likely be used against you in court. The same goes for standardized roadside sobriety exercises like the finger to nose, and walk the line test.
You are under no obligation to preform the roadside sobriety exercises, and they too can be used against you in court if you are charged with DUI. The roadside exercises that Maryland police officers use are designed to be difficult and confusing. The goal of these exercises is to divide your attention and test your ability to listen to instructions and perform a task at the same time. The officer will judge not only your performance on the actual tests, but also on your ability to listen to the complex instructions. It is difficult enough for a sober and coordinated person to perform these exercises the first time, much less someone who as consumed alcohol and is under the stress of a police officer watching. If you choose to perform roadside sobriety exercise, request that the officer escort you to a safe, well lit, and flat area. Inform the officer if you have any medical conditions that might affect your performance, and remove any unsupportive footwear such as high heels or flip flops. Once again, any mistakes on the DUI roadside exercises will show up in a police report. For more information on DUI traffic stops in Maryland contact a Baltimore DUI lawyer for a free consultation.
In Maryland a person does not have to be arrested in order to be charged with an offense that carries the possibility of jail time. Most misdemeanor charges are initiated by a police officer issuing a citation to the alleged offender, though this does not mean the charge should be taken lightly. Criminal citations and certain traffic citations not only carry the possibility of jail, but also the possibility of becoming part of the permanent public record. This is also true with civil violations such as misrepresentation of age and other alcohol violations that do not carry the possibility of jail but could become permanent if not handled properly. Any time you receive a must appear citation (meaning you must go to court) you should contact a lawyer for assistance. A lawyer can immediately start preparing your defense so that the outcome of your case will not be decided in the last minute right before the judge begins court. In some cases a lawyer may be able to negotiate a dismissal for your citation before court, which means you may not even have to show up for your trial.
Many jurisdictions in the United States classify misdemeanors as crimes with a maximum jail sentence of one year, but Maryland does not subscribe to this theory. Misdemeanors can carry harsh prison sentences, sometimes as high as ten years! Assault, drug possession and burglary may be misdemeanors, but these crimes can have serious collateral consequences upon conviction such as the inability to become a U.S. citizen or the ability to stay in the country. There are advantages for Maryland classifying a large number of crimes as misdemeanors rather than felonies. Despite the harsh maximum penalties for some misdemeanors a conviction for one of these crimes will not result in a loss of civil rights. Convicted felons can lose fundamental rights such as the right to vote and to bear arms for relatively minor felony convictions in other states. Hundred of citizens lose their civil rights each year for possession of cocaine or possession of prescription drug convictions.
Do not gamble with your future if you are charged with a criminal, traffic or civil citation for a misdemeanor in Maryland. The harsh maximum sentences, and collateral consequences of misdemeanor convictions make it all the more important to retain an experienced and skilled criminal defense lawyer to handle your case.
Regardless of whether you are injured in a car accident, or a slip and fall accident the first thing you should do is call for emergency medical response. Even if you do not think you are seriously injured you should get checked out by a Maryland emergency medical services or EMS crew before leaving an accident scene . There are a variety of long term serious injuries that are not immediately apparent such as whiplash and even head trauma. Declining immediate medical attention can have serious negative consequences for your health and for a potential damages claim. If emergency medical services do not recommend a trip to the hospital, make sure that you arrange to receive a copy of either an EMS narrative, or a police report detailing the facts surrounding the injury accident.
After an injury accident occurs and any injured parties have been treated, you should try to document the details of the accident to the best of your ability. If you have a camera or a cell phone camera take various pictures of the accident scene. Try to talk to any witnesses or have the police take witness statements. Write down the names of anyone who you think was a witness to the injury accident. Accident scenes can be traumatic but remaining calm and making an effort to remember details can improve your chances of earning monetary damages in a lawsuit. Try to remember not to talk about the accident with anyone except police and EMS. Anything you say at the scene of the accident can later be used by insurance defense lawyers to weaken your damages lawsuit.
After leaving the scene of an injury accident, and in the days that follow you may be contacted by the negligent party’s insurance company and asked to give a statement. Do not give a statement to any insurance agents or defense lawyers without first consulting an experienced Baltimore injury lawyer . Insurance adjusters, agents, and lawyers may try to contact you in order to work out a quick settlement for your injuries. These parties are not out for your best interests and settling a claim for damages without the advice of a Baltimore accident lawyer can end up costing you thousands of dollars.
If you are experiencing any pain or discomfort due to injuries suffered in an accident, seek a medical evaluation immediately. Waiting to see a doctor can weaken a potential damages lawsuit, and in some cases completely bar any monetary recovery. If a medical doctor has ordered follow up treatment or rehabilitation for your accident injuries make sure you follow these orders. Once again, neglecting to rehabilitate injuries can weaken a potential claim for damages. The Baltimore injury lawyers of The Herbst Firm will guide you through the process of recovering from an injury accident from day one. We understand that suffering an injury due to someone else’s negligence is a painful and stressful experience, but recovering damages for your injuries should not be stressful. The Herbst Firm is committed to representing your best interests and earning the settlement or verdict you deserve, while keeping you informed each step of the way.
The short answer to this question is yes, your probation can be violated if you test positive for marijuana. Testing positive could result in a technical violation, and a summons or an arrest warrant could be issued for you. This is true regardless of the fact that the simple possession of marijuana is no longer a crime under Maryland law, and is only punishable by a civil citation. While possession of small amounts is not a crime, this does not mean that weed is a legal substance under state law. When a defendant pleads guilty or no contest and is sentenced to probation it is typically a standard condition that he or she is prohibited from using controlled dangerous substances (CDS). Therefore if a defendant is drug tested and fails a violation could result. Most probation officers will typically wait at least 30 days from the start of probation to test and violate someone for marijuana use, and most judges realize that pot can stay in the system for a month. While testing positive for a substance that is barely illegal may not seem like a big deal, any violation of probation could result in jail time or the loss of a PBJ (which will impose a permanent conviction). This is especially true for someone who is on a high level of supervision such as VPI probation. There may be one exception to this regarding medical marijuana, as a defendant with a valid prescription for medical marijuana would likely have a legal defense to any potential violation.
If you or someone you know is arrested for a criminal offense in Maryland, there are a few important things to remember. Perhaps the most important thing to keep in mind if you are ever arrested for any crime in Maryland is to remain silent. This does not mean that you should be uncooperative with police officers but under no circumstances should you volunteer information to police. Any information that you freely and voluntarily give to police officers can be used against you in your criminal case. And some police officers will even say your statements were given freely and voluntarily when just the opposite is true. Making any statements to police about your criminal case may hamper your lawyer's ability to defend your case. This is true for all criminal cases from misdemeanors such as DUI and drug possession all the way to felonies such as robbery and rape.
For example if you are pulled over for DUI you may be required to produce your license and registration, but try to minimize small talking with the police. Police officers are trained to gather evidence from criminal suspects during all kinds of interactions. You may think that chatting with police can help you to avoid an arrest but in reality you may be giving a police officer probable cause to arrest you for by simply opening up your mouth. A Maryland DUI lawyer can explain in greater detail the tactics that police use to gather evidence in a traffic case. This is the same for many drug arrests such as marijuana possession and cocaine possession. Police are taught what signals to look for when someone is under the influence of drugs, and marijuana especially has tell tale signs that can cause an officer to become suspicious. Cocaine or crack may not have a distinct smell but it can produce visible results that may prompt an officer to conduct a a search of either your car or your person.
In felony cases such as theft, rape, and robbery the consequences for making a statement to police can be extremely severe. Many times in these types of cases there is little or no physical evidence, and prosecuting lawyers can build their entire case around a statement or confession by a defendant. Do not make the mistake of trying to talk your way out of an arrest. Even if you think you are not saying anything incriminating to police, your statements may weaken a defense that your Maryland criminal lawyer may want to use. Remember that have an absolute right to remain silent no matter what police say.
- What Should I do if I am Injured in a Car Accident?
- Do I Have to Pay for a Personal Injury Lawyer?
- Can I Sue if I am Injured in a Store or Other Business?
- How Can I Recover Damages After A Car Accident?
The first thing a driver or passenger should do when involved in a car accident is to call the 911. You should inform the operator if there are any injuries, and answer their questions to the best of your knowledge. If you are unsure about whether anyone is injured always err on the side of caution. Even if there are no visible injuries adrenaline from an accident can temporarily mask pain, so paramedics should always be notified in accident where there was a noticeable impact. After calling the police you can take the next few minutes to assess everyone’s condition and take care not to move anyone who is injured unless they are in a dangerous position. If everyone seems okay you can begin to survey the scene and even take some quick photographs. Try not to speak to the driver or the passengers of the other vehicle about the accident, as these statements may be taken out of context in the future. When the police arrive remain calm and pay attention to all the statements that are made on the scene. Ask the police officer to speak with and record the statements of any witnesses. There are cases where police officers fail to speak to eyewitnesses or take their information down, and this could impact the ability for the truth to come out at a later date.
After you and your family have received medical attention it is then a good time to consult with an injury lawyer. During this consultation you will be under no obligation to hire that attorney or pay him or her any money, but they will be able to advise you on how to protect yourself against insurance companies that love to take advantage of unrepresented accident victims. Once the police have taken your statement and you have reported the accident to your own insurance company you should not speak to anyone else about the accident. Until you have retained an attorney the other driver’s insurance company make try to contact you for a statement, but remember they are not looking out for your best interest. This is especially important in Maryland where contributory negligence is still the law. If you are even 1 percent at fault for the accident you are barred from recovering damages, and insurance companies know the questions to ask to make it seem like you could have been at fault. We recommend retaining an attorney immediately, but make sure you feel comfortable with the attorney as the process may take a few months to a couple years if the case goes to trial. The right attorney will be patient, knowledgeable and available. Some large law offices make it impossible to get in touch with your actual attorney, and instead will pass calls off to an assistant or a younger associate. Act quickly but don’t rush to hire a lawyer.
Almost all personal injury lawyers work on a contingency fee basis, which means that they will not receive any money unless you win at trial or reach a settlement. An attorney that works on a contingency basis will not charge you hourly for the work he or she does, but at the end of the case will receive a percentage of the money that is paid by the insurance company. Attorneys will typically cover the costs of your case (including filing fees and expert witness fees), and will be paid back for these expenses out of the settlement or verdict. If you have any further questions about a contingency fee please feel free to contact our office at (410) 207-2598.
First off, a person can sue another person or a business for any reason, but the real questions is whether you can recover damages for an injury suffered on someone else’s property. An injured person may be able to recover damages against a person or business under the theory of premises liability. Premises liability means that the owner of property is liable for injures that occur on their property if three main elements are satisfied. First it must be established that the property owner knew or should have known about a dangerous condition on their property and second it must be established that the owner did not adequately warn the injured party about the dangerous condition. Finally, and this is only true in Maryland and a handful of other states, it must be established that the injured person did not contribute to causing the injury. A property owner is not liable for injuries that occur on their property unless all three elements are satisfied, as this would constitute strict liability. Every case must be examined on its own to determine whether a person can recover damages as there are no absolutes in slip and fall cases. For example if someone slips on an obviously wet floor in a grocery store the owner is usually liable, but what happens if another customer accidently spilled a drink on the floor just seconds earlier? The store probably will not be liable because they did not have the time to warn other customers about the dangerous condition, and the other customer would not be liable because they didn’t own the property and the spill was an accident. The fact that every case is different is the number one reason why you should contact a slip and fall lawyer if you are injured in an accident on someone else’s property. You may be able to recover for your medical bills as well as for your pain and suffering, and even if you do not recover damages you will not typically have to pay a lawyer to try. Remember that it is never a good idea to speak to the property owner or their insurance company about your accident without first consulting a lawyer. They can twist your words around to make it seem like you were at fault, which in Maryland can prevent you from recovering any money.
If you are injured in a car accident there are a variety of ways to recover the cost of medical bills and money for future pain and suffering. If you were involved in a single car accident and nobody else was at fault you can recover damages by making a clam through your own insurance company, but if you were involved in an accident and another person was at fault you may be able to recover additional damages from that person’s policy.
In Maryland all drivers are required to have a valid automobile insurance policy with a minimum of $30,000 for bodily injury per person, and $60,000 for bodily injury per accident. If you were injured in a car accident and nobody else was at fault then you are limited to recover the bodily injury damages of your own policy. While the statutory minimum amount of coverage is $30,000 most insurance companies recommend at least $50,000 and many drivers carry $100,000 per person. Your insurance company is required to compensate you for medical bills suffered as a result of the accident, but you will not receive extra money for pain and suffering if you were at fault. Now just because all drivers are required to have car insurance doesn’t mean they all actually have it, and to account for this situation drivers are also required to carry uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage with the same policy minimums of $30,000 and $60,000. This coverage will kick in when the accident was caused by a person who was driving without insurance, or a person whose policy was insufficient to cover the amount of damages you sustained.
If another driver was at fault and maintained a valid insurance policy you can recover from them, and from your insurance company if you have PIP (personal injury protection). While PIP is required in many states, in Maryland a driver can waive PIP in order to lower the premium. PIP is money that will be paid right away for medical bills before it is established who was at fault, but PIP generally will not cover the entire bills. Most PIP policies are limited to about $2,500, which for a serious accident will only cover the initial bills.
In addition to recovering on your PIP policy, you can also recover under the other driver’s bodily injury and property damage policies if you were not at fault. In this situation we always recommend contacting a lawyer to recover the cost of your medical bills plus additional money for the pain and suffering you experienced. Be aware that insurance companies who know their client was at fault will generally try to offer a quick low-ball settlement to unrepresented individuals, which is why you should contact a lawyer before engaging in any conversations with an insurance company. Once you settle and sign a release without counsel you will likely be barred from recovering anything else in the future, even if new injuries creep up down the road. You should never accept a quick settlement in a car accident case because the full extent of your injuries is not always apparent right away. In some cases drivers do not begin to feel certain injuries until weeks after the accident, and then it could be weeks more until the right doctor makes an accurate diagnosis. While bruises and broken bones are immediately apparent, certain injuries such as nerve damage and post concussion syndrome are serious but not always recognizable. A general piece of advice after an accident is to seek immediate medical attention and then contact a lawyer that can guide you through the process of recovering the compensation you deserve.